Sweet Potato & Black Bean Hash

I’m almost through my vegetarian week. I’ve slipped though and had two meals with meat. Once at dinner at one of my favorite restaurants. I rarely go there (seriously, maybe once a year), so I was getting whatever the heck I wanted. The second time, I ordered an egg white omelette at lunch the other day, and on the way home about a half hour later I realized it had turkey in it. I don’t think that’s too bad for the first time I’ve gone vegetarian for a week. I might do this again next week, much to Rachel’s chagrin – the kid is a carnivore through and through.

I started back to work, part-time only, this week, and I wasn’t expecting to be so thoroughly exhausted (or sore). I’ve also made it to the gym a few days, so trying to get back to normal has been kicking my ass. That being said, I didn’t do as much actual cooking as I had planned this week, but I did throw this Tex-Mex inspired hash together tonight. Rachel gobbled it up. My original intention was to use it as a taco filling (which you totally can), but I liked it just as it is. I also thought about throwing an egg on top, but honestly, I just wanted to get off my ankle by the time I was done cooking. Without the egg, it is both vegetarian and vegan, so there’s that.

sweet potato black bean hash 500

Sweet Potato & Black Bean Hash

  • 3 cups Sweet Potatoes, diced into about 1″ squares (I’d go a bit smaller if using for tacos)
  • 1 can Black Beans, rinsed and drained (about 1.5 cups)
  • 1 cup Red Bell Peppers, diced
  • 1/2 cup Onions, diced
  • 1/2 cup Corn (I used leftover oven-roasted corn)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbsp. Lime Juice
  • 1 tsp. Honey (if desired)
  • 1 tsp. Smoked Paprika
  • 1 tsp. Ground Cumin
  • 1 tsp. Chili Powder
  • 1 tsp. Garlic Powder (you could also use fresh)
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Coriander
  • 2 tsp. Dried Cilantro (I’d normally use fresh, but I forgot it at the grocery)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Spray a large skillet with non-stick cooking spray, and begin to cook the sweet potatoes and onions over medium-high heat. I sprinkle half the spices over the sweet potatoes when I first get them started; add the olive oil, a bit of the lime juice, and give them a stir. I keep a cup of water handy, and add a bit as needed to keep everything from sticking, and to help incorporate the spices evenly if needed. Add the bell peppers and corn. I turn the heat down to medium or medium low at this point, cover, and periodically add just enough water to keep the vegetables from sticking. The steam from adding water helps to cook the sweet potato faster, too. When the sweet potatoes are almost cooked through (they will be fork tender, but not cooked completely yet) add the black beans and the rest of the seasoning. Once you’ve added the black beans, be sure to stir a bit more gently so you don’t mash the beans. Continue to add water as needed while the sweet potatoes finish cooking. That’s it… easy peasy, right?

I divided the hash into four portions. That works out to be 226 calories, 2.6g fat, 43.4g carbs, and 7.3g of protein per serving. Sweet potatoes also pack a huge punch of potassium and vitamin A in this dish. All the veggies – especially the black beans – also give you almost 9g of fiber, and nearly 11% of your daily iron. Not too shabby for a little over 200 calories, methinks.

ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

