Vegetarian challenge…

I’ve decided to go vegetarian for a week. Maybe more, for now I’m going with a week. I’ve told (I think) three people this idea, and they’ve all responded with an incredulous “Why??” Well… because why not??

peas a chanceFor a month (or more) now, I’ve been on the right track… keeping food logs, getting in activity as much as my ankle will allow during the healing process, recording all of it in my journal – basically re-establishing all of my good habits that worked for me before. And guess what?! The scale hasn’t budged. one. friggin. bit. Well, it has… it said I gained four pounds in like three days, and then said I lost them the next. But that’s about it. it circles around the same four or five pounds. Frankly, I’ve taken to referring to my morning weigh-in device as “that bitch in the bathroom.” Now.. I know that considering my body is rebuilding several bones, ligaments, and muscles that it is going to pack some weight on (and there’s no telling how much fluid is added in due to the constant swelling that leaves my ankle looking anywhere from “almost normal” to “holy cankle, Batman!!” That doesn’t negate that fact that I’m starting to get frustrated with the the weight issue. Like…. it’s been a month. I’m busting my butt over here, and have nothing to show for it. Frustrated is quickly becoming pissed, which is usually followed by discouraged and giving up. I don’t want to go there. SO I’ve got to change something.

I got to thinking… what worked for me before is not necessarily going to work for me again. The rules of the game have changed. I planned my diet according to my fitness regimen then. My current reality is that I don’t know if I will be able to handle a trip to the grocery store on a day to day (or honestly, even an hour to hour) basis, let alone knowing if I’ll be able to walk well enough to get into the gym. I’m kind of at the mercy of the healing process when it comes to working out. But what I can control – and experiment with – is my diet. Enter the vegetarian idea.

Let me preface by saying that I’m going to give this a go because I knooooow that I don’t get enough vegetables and fruit in my diet. There isn’t some challenge out there on social media or something (at least, not that I know of). I’m simply curious to see what will happen if I eat vegetarian for a week. What’s the worst thing that could happen? Nada. Nothing. I’ve got nothing to lose (except hopefully some fat). I don’t think I’ll go all stark-raving carnivore and take out a cow in the dead of night on day 6. I couldn’t walk through the field anyway, so no cows will be harmed in the making of this experiment. Also, I know I am not going to magically drop back to a size 12 after a week. I thought I should clarify that I don’t have any delusions of grandeur. (But how cool would that be if it did happen!?) My hope is that by throwing some additional plant fiber at my body, it will start to clear out some of the fat it has been saving up these past few months.

I was going to say, wish me luck, but I really don’t think I’m going to need it. Now if I was going vegan, then yeah… I have so much respect for those who can cut out all animal products. This girl is keeping her greek yogurt and cottage cheese, thankyouverymuch.

Have any of you done something similar? Did it work? Any tips??

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

