Thai Ginger Vegetable Soup

I know, I know.. It’s summer. Who wants soup? Well… I do. I know its considered cold weather  fare, but I could honestly eat soup (or stew or chili) just about any time. I think I talked about my love of soups before, and one of my favorite benefits is that if you are sticking to broth-based soups that are loaded up with veggies they fill you up for little calories, are loaded with fiber (along with tons of other good vitamins and minerals). All good things when you’re looking to drop a few pounds. I’m also a big fan of anything that can be made in a single pot or thrown into a crock pot.

Aside from it being quite tasty, this is one of my favorite soups for the whole weight-loss thing. Just around 100 calories for a bowl, less than a gram of fat, 25g of carbs, over 7g of fiber, and LOADED with vitamins and minerals. Cruciferous veggies are crazy good for you. The soup has some kick to it (seriously – I drank an entire bottle of water while eating a bowl), but studies have shown that spicy foods can help kick up your metabolism a bit, both boosting your fat-burning ability and helping you feel full.

Thai Ginger Veg Soup 500

Thai Ginger Vegetable Soup

  • 4 cups (1 box) Swanson Thai Ginger flavor-infused broth
  • 1 cup Vegetable Stock (or Chicken Stock)
  • 8 cups Chopped Cabbage (about a small head)
  • 2 cups Carrots, sliced
  • 1 cup Red Bell Pepper, sliced (or diced) – I used both red and orange bell peppers
  • 3/4 cup Onions, diced (green onions are also good)
  • 2 cups Zucchini, quartered lengthwise and cut into 1-inch slices
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp Dried Basil
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/3 cup Fresh Cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tsp Lime Juice (if desired)
  • Ground Pepper to taste (I use about 1-2 tsp.)

Spray your stockpot with non-stick cooking spray. Saute the onions until clear. Add your stocks, spices, and all vegetable except for the zucchini. Zucchini cooks really quickly, so add it about 10-15 minutes before serving so it doesn’t break down in your soup. I allow my soup to simmer (just barely below boiling) for about an hour, until the cabbage is just tender. Like all soups, the longer you let it go, the more flavorful it becomes! Don’t forget to remove the bay leaves before serving.

6 servings (calculated for the above nutritional stats). You can easily get 8 one-cup servings from this recipe.

Please note:  This soup is a bit heavy on sodium (due to the stock), so you may want to dilute it with some water or a lower-sodium veggie or chicken stock (you may have to add some  ground ginger to get the same flavor profile). You’ll notice I don’t add additional salt at all! I have tried to make my own version of this prepared stock, but it has never turned out quite the same, so I’ve decided I’m going to cheat and use Swanson’s! 🙂

ENJOY!!

P.S. I often use pre-packaged broccoli slaw and in place of some of the cabbage. You can also use pre-packaged shredded/chopped cabbage to save on time. Like most veggie soups, this is a great way to use up whatever you have on hand in the crisper. Make it to suit your tastes!

Leave a Reply

