(Healthy) Chicken Tortilla Soup

One of the things I’ve always had a knack for was making some kick-ass soup. I can usually turn just about any food into a soup. There’s a whole lot of reasons this is an awesome thing:

  • You can sneak a lot of veggies into a soup, and they will almost always taste like the rest. Yay for eating your colors and getting lots of fiber.
  • All that fiber is REALLY filling, so you will be fuller, longer.
  • If you stick with broth-based soups (not cream! – I know, it’s delicious, but not conducive to the whole fat loss thing, and I promise you won’t miss it anyway) soups are fairly low in calories. Yay again!

So the other day, in an attempt to satisfy both myself and my picky eater, I decided to do a play on chicken fajitas in a soup. What I ended up with tasted like a copycat version of the chicken tortilla soup from Red Robin (yummmmmm). My daughter, who is a strong opponent to veggies, scarfed it.

17333307_1913611978873633_1997000230309986304_n

(Healthy) Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • 8 oz. Cooked Chicken Breast, pulled apart
  • 1 can (or 1.75 cups) Black Beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup Red Bell Peppers, diced (you can use any color of peppers)
  • 1 cup Yellow Onions, diced
  • 3 cloves of Garlic, pressed, or finely diced
  • 1/2 cup Green Onions
  • 1/2 cup Corn (I used frozen)
  • 1.5 cups Broccoli Slaw Mix  (I keep this stuff on hand to for soups, stirfrys, salads)
  • 1 cup Brown Rice (cooked)
  • 4 cups Chicken Stock
  • 2 cups Vegetable Stock
  • 1 cup Tomato Sauce
  • 2 Tbsp Lime Juice
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil (or Olive Oil)
  • 1 Tsp Ancho Chili Powder
  • 1 Tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1/2 Tsp Smoked Paprika
  • Fresh Cilantro, and salt and pepper, to taste

Spray your soup pot with a spritz of cooking spray first to make clean-up easier. Over high heat, add your oil and wait for it to get just hot enough to saute. Brown the yellow onions and bell peppers in the oil. Add the garlic just at the end – if it burns it will get bitter. At this point I usually add just a handful or two of water to my pot to get the brown bits from the bottom, too. Turn down the heat to medium – medium-high and add the broths and tomato sauce and spices. Give them a stir, and add in the rest of the ingredients. Don’t let it boil, only simmer. I allowed mine to simmer for about an hour, skimming the top as needed. I topped mine with just a little shredded cheese and Avocado Ranch yogurt dressing from Bolthouse Farms (I know, it sounds crazy, but that’s been my go-to in place of sour cream, and I’m hooked on the stuff. Don’t knock it till you try it!)

For a big – and I do mean BIG – bowl (6 servings in this recipe) this has 207 calories, 4g fat, 34g carbs, 7.5g fiber, 8.5g sugar, 15.7g protein (before adding the garnishes). Next time I will probably add more chicken to up the protein; I was using up leftovers from the fridge in this one.

Note: This is high in sodium, even if you use the low-sodium stock, so I would suggest making your own if you are cutting back on sodium content. Also, you can cut down on the carbs by omitting the rice and corn.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

